Jain Tirthankara  


  HomeNamokar MantraJain Dharma TirthankaraPilgrimageOrganizationFestival   LiteratureAhimsaNews

 Home>  Festival>>

Das Lakshan Parva (daslakshna parva) 2015


  Das Lakshan Parva (Daslakshan Parva) 2015

  Jain Symbol

Daslakshan Parva  or the Festival of ten virtues is the Paryushan festival celebrated by the Digambar Jains annually for self-purification and uplift. This year Daslakshan Parva being celebrated from September 18, 2015 to September 27, 2015. This parva  ultimately leads us to our true destination i.e., salvation.  All Digambar jain celebrate the Dash Lakshan Parva for ten days. It is the festival for the observance of ten universal virtues; viz., forgiveness, contentment, and celibacy, which aim at the uplift of the soul and are vividly preached and practiced during the festival. The ten virtues or dharma are:

‘Dharma, Seva, Kshanti, Mridutvmrijuta, ch Shotmath, Satyam
Akinchanyam, Brahm, tyagshch, tapashch, sanyamshcheti’
(Acharya Amritchandra, Sloka 208)

1. Uttama Kshama - Supreme Forgiveness (To observe tolerance whole-heartedly, shunning anger.)
2. Mardava - Tenderness or Humility (To observe the virtue of humility subduing vanity and passions.)
3. Arjaya - Straight-forwardness or Honesty (To practice a deceit-free conduct in life by vanquishing the passion of deception.)
4. Shaucha - Contentment or Purity (To keep the body, mind and speech pure by discarding greed.
5. Satya - Truthfulness (To speak affectionate and just words with a holy intention causing no injury to any living being.)
6. Sanyam - Self-restraint (To defend all living beings with utmost power in a cosmopolitan spirit abstaining from all the pleasures provided by the five senses - touch, taste, smell, sight, and hearing; and the sixth - mind.)
7. Tapa - Penance or Austerities (To practice austerities putting a check on all worldly allurements.)
8. Tyaga - Renunciation (To give four fold charities - Ahara (food), Abhaya (fearlessness), Aushadha (medicine), and Shastra Dana (distribution of Holy Scriptures), and to patronize social and religious institutions for self and other uplifts.)
9. Akinchanya - Non-attachment (To enhance faith in the real self as against non-self i.e., material objects; and to discard internal Parigraha viz. anger and pride; and external Parigraha viz. accumulation of gold, diamonds, and royal treasures.)
10. Brahmacarya - Chastity or celibacy (To observe the great vow of celibacy; to have devotion for the inner soul and the omniscient Lord; to discard the carnal desires, vulgar fashions, child and old-age marriages, dowry dominated marriages, polygamy, criminal assault on ladies, use of foul and vulgar language.)
The eleventh  day is the day of Kashma Yachna

Dash Lakshan Parva 2015
Sept 18  Dash Lakshan Begins
Sept. 23 : Sugandh Dasmi
Sept.27: Ananta Chaturdasi
Sept 27. Dash Lakshan Parva Ends
Sept.29: Kashma Vani


Copyright ã 2003, Digambarjainonline.com All Rights Reserved.