Jain Tirthankara  


  HomeNamokar MantraJain Dharma TirthankaraPilgrimageOrganizationFestival   LiteratureAhimsaNews

 Home>   Jain Symbols












  The comprehensive Jain symbol consists of a Jain emblem, crescent of the moon, three dots, the Swastika, ther Om, the palm of a hand with the wheel (Chakra) inset, and an outline figure encompassing all symbols and several other symbols. Each individual symbol is also separately used in Jainism. 
Jain emblem
  During the auspicious 2500th Nirvana anniversary of Lord Mahavir Swami in 1975, the Jain community  chose one image as an emblem for the Jain religion. This emblem  represents  the dedication and trust for the religion and the values and many important concepts to show the path to enlightenment by following the basic principles of AHIMSA (non-violence), 
   The Jain emblem is composed of many fundamental concepts and symbols. The outline of the image represents the universe as described in Jain scriptures. The Jain emblem  consists of three LOKS (realms). The upper portion indicates URDHAVA LOK  (heaven), the middle portion indicates MADHYALOK (material world) and the lower portion indicates ADHOLOK (hell).

 Eblem a universal Jain symbol 
  Jain emblem

   According to Gommatsara - Jiva-Khand the Loka (Universe) is 14 Rajus high at the base, with a thickness at the base is 7 Rajus, then gradually decreases to one Rajus at a height of 7 Rajus, i.e. at the Middle of the Universe where the Middle World or the region of the human and subhuman being is situated. Then it gradually grows to a thickness of 5 Rajus at the point where the sixth Heavens ends, and which marks the Middle of the Upper World, or the region of the heavenly beings; finally it gradually decreases to a thickness of one Rajus at the top of the Universe. It is here, that the Sidha Ksetra, or the region of the eternally liberated souls is situated.  (See the figure given here) .             
  In the Jain emblem the semi-circular on the topmost portion symbolizes SIDDHASHILA,  which is a zone beyond the three realms. All of the Siddhas or the  liberated bodiless souls  reside on this  forever, liberated from the cycle of life and death. 
  The three dots on the top of emblem symbolizes TRIRATNA (three jewels) – SAMYAK DARSHAN (right belief), SAMYAK GYAN (right knowledge), & SAMYAK CHARITRA (right conduct). Every creature in this world can become free from the cycle of life and death. This gives the message that it is necessary to have TRIRATNA in order to attain MOKSHA.
These dots also represent the three worlds: the lower region including hells, the upper region including heavens, and the middle region which includes earth. All worldly (non-liberated) souls take birth, live, die, and suffer (pains or pleasures) in these three worlds.    

  Jaina Universe
   Three LOKS (realms) or Universe described in
    Jain scriptures  

   SWASTIKA: In the top portion, four arms of SWASTIKA symbolizes the four GATI (destiny): NARAK (demon), TRIYANCH (animal), MANUSHYA (human) and DEV (angel). It represents the perpetual nature of the universe in the MADHYALOK (material world), where a creature is destined to one of those states based on their Karmas (deeds). It also represents the four columns of the Jain Sangh (community): Sadhus, Sadhvis, Shravaks and Shravikas - monks, nuns, female and male laymen. It also represents the four characteristics of the soul: infinite  knowledge (Anant Jnan), infinite perception (Anant Darshan), infinite happiness  (Anant Sukh), and infinite energy (Anant Virya).  
  The symbol of hand in the lower portion shows fearlessness and symbolize the feeling of AHIMSA (non-violence ) towards all the creatures in this world. The circle in the middle of the hand symbolizes SAMASARA (reincarnation cycle) and the 24 spokes represents the preaching from the 24 Tirthankars (enlightened souls), which can be used to liberate a soul from the cycle or reincarnation. 
 The meaning of the mantra at the bottom of mblem (PARSPAROGRAHO JIVANAM) is "Live and Let Live". All creatures should help one another. 
Wheel:  The wheel of dharma (Chakra) with 24 spokes represents the religion preached by the 24 Tirthankars consisting of nonviolence (Ahimsä), compassion, Anekäntvaad, Aparigraha and other virtues, and equality of all the souls. 

 Hand with wheel in Jain religion      
    The symbol of hand

  The Swastika is a sacred symbol in Jainism. The four sides of Swastika  symbolize the four forms of existence of the worldly (non-liberated) souls. The four forms are; heavenly beings, human, Tiryanch (which includes animals, birds, and plants), and hellish beings. It reminds us that worldly souls undergo a continuous cycle of birth, suffering, and death in these four forms. Hence one should follow the true religion and be liberated from suffering. 
  The three dots represent the Jain path of liberation (Jain trinity): Right Faith (Samyak Darshan), Right Knowledge (Samyak Jnäna), and Right Conduct (Samyak Chäritra), which together lead to liberation.  
   The crescent of the moon represents the region known as Moksha. This region is beyond the three worlds and it is the permanent place where the liberated souls reside. 

  Symbol of Swastik
Symbol ogf Aum

 AUM or OM
The Sanskrit word Om is made up of five sounds and letters; a, a, ä, u, and m: The first letter "a" represents Arihants (human beings who have eradicated all four Ghäti Karma. It includes Tirthankars who have established religious order) · The second "a" represents A-shareeri (A-shareeri means without physical body, liberated soul or Siddha or perfected being). The third letters "ä" represents Ächärya (Ascetic who is the head of congregation). The fourth letter "u" represents Upädhyäy (Ascetic teacher) The fifth letter "m" represents Muni (Sädhu/Sädhvi or monks/ nuns who are initiated (who have taken Dikshä) by taking five Mahävrat (great vows)). 
Hence the Om represents the salutation to the five revered personalities in the Jain religion. Om is a short form of the Namokar Mahämantra. 

 Other Symbols   
 These are eight auspicious symbols  Swastika, Shrivasta (an auspicious sign on the chest), Nandhyavarta (complex swastika), Vardhamanaka, Bhadrasana (a holy seat), Kalasha (Holy pitcher), Minyugala (Fish-couple) and Darpana (Mirror). They have been auspicious since time immemorial and have been depicted in the Kalpasutra. According to the scriptures every Jain has to draw them with pure un-broken rice-grains before the icon of the Tirthankar. Some have reduced this custom to the drawing of a swastika, along with three heaps of rice-grain symbolising knowledge, vision and character.  
  Tithankara emblems: 
Each Tirthankara has a symbol of their own for their unique identification. The symbols that are found in the centre right below each statue signify the particular Tirthankara.
Flag:  Flags used as red for Siddh, yellow for Acharya, white for Arihant, green for Upadhyay and blue for Sadhu.
Jain Flag:  Dduring the temple's anniversary the flag  is placed on the 'mountain' (shikhar) of the temple. This flag is unique and different from the other types of flags. The flag is very long and dangling. 



[ Namokar Mantra] [ Dig.Jain Dharma] [ Tirhankaras ] [Jain Pilgrimage ] [ Organizations] [ Festivals ] [ Literature ] [ Ahimsa ][ News]  [ Railways] [ Airways ] [ Weather ] [ Contact Us ] [ Advertise ] [ About Us ] [ Disclaimer ]  

Site copyright ã 2003, Digambarjainonline.com All Rights Reserved.